Balance presents Kölsch


“Another Kölsch, please” is definitively an ambiguous statement. Either you are ordering another beer in a pub in Cologne or you are asking, preferable in the same town at Kompakt’s flagship store, for melodic, highly-flammable, pyro-techno records that are masterfully arranged by Kölsch in a way that you could bomb your ‘Opa’ homeless in case he is planning to cut you out of his will.

Born in Copenhagen with a German-Irish parent combo, Rune Reilly Kölsch navigated safely between all facets of electronic music from commercial house with his 2003 worldwide, football stadium anthem ‘Calabria’ to hallmark techno crescendos like ‘Goldfisch’ as cool as a hard-drinker can manage beer, gløgg and whisky at the same time. Unlike his Northern neighbours, Kölsch did not decide to form a cartel of average music but developed a style that fits perfectly with Kompakt’s native attitude for its Speicher series: ‘no fillers, just killers’. Hence, it doesn’t surprise that label head Michael Mayer signed him for several releases under the label’s most successful series in 2010 and released Kölsch’s debut album ‘1997’ at a perfect timing while Kompakt was celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2013.

After outstanding releases, Kölsch demonstrates his eclectic style by compiling a diverse, 19 tracks chapter for the Australian quality “Balance series”. Have a pre-listen below. Official release in Europe and Asia is the 1st December, friends from The States have to wait until 9th December 2014.

“Another Kölsch please”, skål!



1. Galaxy 2 Galaxy – Journey Of The Dragons
2. Pional – It’s All Over (John Talabot’s Stripped Remix)
3. Danny Daze – Freeze (Frozen mix)
4. Patrice Bäumel – Mile High Gang
5. Henrik Schwarz – Lockstep
6. Minilogue – Endlessness
7. Radiohead – Videotape
8. Dhumen – No More
9. Kölsch – Punchbuggy *
10. Adrian Hour – Chordgresion
11. Odd Parents – Learn To Fly (Maceo Plex Flight Home Remix)
12. Stephan Hinz & Phillipp Ruhmhardt – Panther
13. Kölsch feat Waa Industry – Papageno 14. Kenny Larkin – Plankton
15. Caribou – Can’t Do Without You (Tale Of Us & Mano Le Tough Remix)
16. Karl Friedrich – Bodies
17. John Norman & Dantiez Saunderson – Stuck In My Mind (Soukervalli Remix)
18. Coldplay – A Sky Full Of Stars (Kölsch Remix) *
19. Audion feat. Troels Abrahamsen – Dem Howl (Joris Voorn Mix)

* Exclusive tracks for the “Balance presents” series


Leave a Reply